CEO of Texas Society of CPAs named ‘2015 Distinguished Executive’

John Sharbaugh

John Sharbaugh

John Sharbaugh, executive director/CEO of the Texas Society of CPAs (TSCPA), was awarded the 2015 Distinguished Executive Award from the Texas Society of Association Executives (TSAE), the TSCPA announced.

Sharbaugh was chair of the TSAE Board of Directors from 2011-2012. He was honored at TSAE’s Annual Conference in Corpus Christi on Sept. 28, 2015.

Each year, TSAE looks to recognize an executive who reflects outstanding leadership and achievement in association management. In addition to serving TSAE, they contribute to voluntary membership organizations and participate in civic and community affairs while continually bringing credit to the association management community.

“John Sharbaugh is one of the most strategic, collaborative and thoughtful leaders I know,” says Allyson Baumeister, 2015-2016 chairman of TSCPA. “His team and colleagues have the highest respect for him as a person and as a leader … and [he is] a role model to all who know him.”

Before joining TSCPA in 2000, Sharbaugh was vice president of State Societies and Regulatory Affairs with the AICPA in Washington, D.C., for 12 years. He also served as executive director of the North Carolina Association of CPAs and as deputy executive director for the Florida Institute of CPAs.