10 College Students Receive Scholarships from AICPA and Accountemps

The AICPA has announced the 10 winners of the 2014-2015 AICPA/Accountemps student scholarship. The award and scholarship are presented each year to undergraduate and graduate-level accounting students who plan to pursue their CPA license. The recipients have demonstrated academic excellence, while showing exceptional leadership. Each recipient will receive a $2,500 award for the 2014-2015 academic year.

“On behalf of the AICPA, I applaud this year’s recipients of the AICPA/Accountemps student scholarship for their commitment to academic achievement,” says Joanne Fiore, AICPA VP of professional media, pathways and inclusion. “These exceptional students are a testament to the strength of the pipeline of talent coming into the accounting profession.”

The 2014-2015 AICPA/Accountemps student scholarship recipients are: Matthew Adams – University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire; Tanyeka Alexander – University of Baltimore; Guadalupe Cotto – Roosevelt University; Jenna Durnell – Southwest Baptist University; Zachary Haveman – University of Denver; Jessica Huang – Santa Clara University; Anthony Jakubowski – The University of Akron; Jacob Persky – University of Kentucky; Brooke Stout – Boise State University; and Eric Troff – University of Utah.

As AICPA/Accountemps scholarship recipients, the 10 students, chosen from more than 1,190 applicants, become part of the AICPA Legacy Scholars program. The program, established in 2011, awards recipients a one-year AICPA scholarship and helps develop the soft skills needed to maintain a successful career through service. Scholarship recipients plan, promote and execute eight-hour community service projects per semester. The service activity must relate to accounting, serve the community and be meaningful to the student.

Eligible applicants must have maintained a minimum GPA of 3.0 and completed at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, including six semester hours in accounting. A task force comprised of AICPA and Accountemps representatives selected the recipients based on academic achievement; demonstration of leadership and volunteerism; and overall commitment to becoming a licensed CPA professional.

“We are proud to partner with the AICPA to honor these outstanding students for their achievements as they prepare for their accounting careers,” says Andrew Denka, executive VP of Accountemps. “We look forward to their future contributions to the professional community.”